

Annual General Meeting Wednesday, May 24, 2023 UFV Abbotsford Campus K 180, 6:30-7:15 pm

1. Call to Order	Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair
2. Land Acknowledgement	Tony Dhaliwal, Vice-Chair
3. Approval of the Agenda	Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair
4. Approval of the Minutes: 2022 AGM	Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair
5. Welcome & Update from UFV	Dr. James Mandigo, UFV's Acting President Susan Mide Kiss, UFV's Vice President, Community Engagement
6. Auditor Waiver	Tricia Taylor, Associate Vice-Chair
7. Financial Statements 2022-23	Whitney Fordham; Executive Director, UFV Alumni Association; Director, Alumni Engagement
8. Report from the Executive Director	Whitney Fordham; Executive Director, UFV Alumni Association; Director, Alumni Engagement
9. Report from the Chair	Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair
10. Presentation of UFVAA Strategic Plan	Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair
11. Appointment of Chair	Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair
12. Elections	Tony Dhaliwal, Chair
13. New Business & Questions	Tony Dhaliwal, Chair
14. Adjournment	Tony Dhaliwal, Chair

Following the formal business portion of the evening, the UFVAA will present the inaugural Outstanding Student Leader Award and present outgoing Directors with service awards at a reception on K 170 Patio.

Complimentary headshots available in room K 171.



Annual General Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 25, 2022 Abbotsford, F125

Present: Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair; Keenan Beavis, Director; Marc Bergen, Vice- Chair; Derek Froese, Chair Emeritus; Kevin Renso, Director; Jennifer Trithardt-Tufts, Director; Ashley Ward-Hall, Director; Derek Ward-Hall, Associate Vice-Chair; Isaac Veeneman, Director; Maxine Bouthot, Alumni Representative to UFV Board of Governors; Ali Siemens, Acting Executive Director, Alumni Relations (staff); Whitney Fordham, Executive Director; Nikolas Venema, Chair Emeritus; Andrew Stahl; Tina Kirkham; Caitlin O'Donoghue; Lauren Dallow; Dylan Walsh; Jennifer Martel; Yalin Wei; Jackie Hogan; Tejinder Dhaliwal; Ryan Leonhard; Julie Kanya; Mitchel Huttema; Rohan Singh; Kayla Klim; Issac Veeneman; Raina Nareg; Jordan Arthur; Yangho Kim; Neeraj Kumar; Harman Gill; Tarryn Van Der Linde;

Guests: Joanne MacLean, President, UFV; Craig Toews, VP External; Alan Wiseman, UFV Secretary to the Senate; Anita Nielsen, UFV Director of Advancement;

Regrets: Maggi Davis, Coordinator, Alumni Relations (staff);

1. Call to Order (Derick Uittenbosch, Chair)

The meeting was called to order at 6:39 pm by Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair.

- 2. Land Acknowledgement (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)
- 3. Approval of Agenda (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

Motion: Be it resolved that we adopt the UFV Alumni Association 2022 AGM Agenda as discussed.

Derek Froese / Marc Bergen
CARRIED

4. Approval of Minutes from the 2021 AGM (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

Motion: Be it resolved that we approve the UFV Alumni Association 2021 AGM Minutes as discussed.

ANDREW STAHL/ MARC BERGEN

i. In Section 6 following all bullet points correcting: Ms. Nielsen's name spelling. ii. In section 10 Correcting the motion, change from UFVAAA to UFVAA

Whitney Fordham / Derek Froese CARRIED

5. UFV President, Remarks (Dr. Joanne MacLean, UFV President & Vice Chancellor)

Dr MacLean addressed the Alumni Association, thanking the body for inviting her to speak. Dr. Maclean welcomed and recognized Whitney Fordham, a UFV Alumna, for her new role as Director of the Alumni Relations department. She spoke to the Alumni board and thanked them for their volunteerism. Ali Siemens, Acting Director of Alumni Relations, was also thanked for stepping in this last year.

6. Financial Statements 2020 -2021 (Ali Siemens, Acting Director, Alumni Relations)

Ali Siemens presented the 2021-22 financial statements previously circulated as part of the AGM meeting package.

7. Auditor Waiver (Derek Ward-Hall, Associate Vice-Chair)

Motion: Be it resolved that we waive the audit of the 2021-2022 financial statements.

Seconded: Tricia Taylor

CARRIED

8. Report from the Chair (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

The Chair thanked Ali Siemens for her contributions from the last year, recognized the artwork of Chantelle Trainor-Matties on the wine label, announced the new wine label release, and presented other highlights.

9. Appointment of Executive Director (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

Mr. Uittenbosch also spoke to the signing of the MOU allowed for the creation of a new position, that of the Executive Director of Alumni Association, Director of Alumni Relations.

Motion: To appoint Whitney Fordham to the position of the inaugural Executive Director of the Alumni Association

Derek Froese / Nik Venema

Be it resolved that Whitney Fordham is appointed to the position of the inaugural Executive Director

CARRIED

10. Board Elections (Marc Bergen, Chair, Governance)

The Governance Committee nominated for re-election: Kevin Renso, Sunny Kim, Tricia Taylor, and Jennifer Trithardt-Tufts

In accordance with the Association's Bylaws, the Chair declared the election to be won by acclamation.

Attendees interested in serving on the Board of Directors were asked to contact the Alumni Relations Office or visit the website.

12.	 Adjournment (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair) Motion: Be it resolved that we adjourn the 2022 UFV Alumni Association AGM. 		
		Marc Bergen / Ali Siemens CARRIED	
	The meeting was adjourned at 7:19 pm.		
	Minutes approved:		
	Chair:	Date:	

11. Questions from the Membership (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

No questions were raised.