

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 24, 2023 Abbotsford, K180

Present: Derrick Uittenbosch (Chair), Tony Dhaliwal (Vice-Chair), Jennifer Trithardt-Tufts (Director), Amandeep Khinda (Director), Jessica Levesque (Director), Nik A. Venema (Chair Emeritus), Derek Froese (Chair Emeritus), Maxine Bouthot, Aakash Dean, Mandeep Dhaliwal, James Flom, Vladislav Gavrilov, Tyler Kennedy, Courtney Klemets, Azizah Lotfi, Mr. M. Lutfi, Jennifer Martel, Deanna McIntyre, Liana L. Missori, Tanja Neely, Caitlin Pascuzzo, Harman Rathore, Arfhad Shaikh, Gurnoor Sidhu, Andrew Stahl, Cobi Timmermans, Michelle Vandepol, Adalie Schnider, Ashley Ward-Hall, Derek Ward-Hall, Alisa Webb (Vice-President, Students), Cambree Lovesy, Whitney Fordham (Director, Alumni Engagement; Executive Director, UFV Alumni Association), Anthony Biondi (Digital Engagement Strategist, UFV Alumni Engagement), Maggi Davis (Coordinator, Alumni Engagement, recording)

Guests: Susan Mide Kiss (Vice-President, Community Engagement), Laura Authier (Associate Vice-President, Community Engagement), Kyle Baillie (Executive Director, Student Affairs), Garry Fehr (Associate Vice-President, Research and Graduate Studies), Amy Mykes (Director, Community Programming and Experience), Al Wiseman (University Secretary, Secretariat Office), Stefania Pizzirani, Kulveer Singh, Reetu Dhaliwal, Daljit Benning, Jason Benning, Mandeep Benning, Sahaj Bhatia,

1. Call to Order (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

The meeting was called to order at 6:37 pm by Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair.

- 2. Land Acknowledgement (Tony Dhaliwal, Vice-Chair)
- 3. Approval of Agenda (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

Motion: Be it resolved that we adopt the UFV Alumni Association 2023 AGM Agenda as presented.

Tony Dhaliwal/ Andrew Stahl CARRIED

4. Approval of Minutes from the 2022 AGM (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

Motion: Be it resolved that we approve the UFV Alumni Association 2022 AGM Minutes as presented.

Jessica Levesque / Arfhad Shaikh CARRIED

5. UFV Remarks (Dr. James Mandigo, Acting UFV President & Vice-Chancellor, via video; Susan Mide-Kiss Vice-President, Community Engagement)

Dr. James Mandigo sent greetings to the UFV alumni members via video message. UFV and the Alumni Association are partners, and we are better together. Alumni are our best ambassadors, there is no better way to tell our stories than through our alumni. Dr. Mandigo thanked our alumni community for their engagement with UFV and the UFV Alumni Association. Dr. Mandigo also acknowledged Derrick Uittenbosch for his leadership as UFV Alumni Association Chair since 2021, and further acknowledged the entire alumni board of Directors for their volunteerism. Lastly, Dr. Mandigo congratulated Tony Dhaliwal as he embarks on his new role as Chair of the UFV Alumni Association.

Susan Mide Kiss shared the importance of collaboration between the UFV Alumni Association and UFV. Together, we are enriching lives in our community, and beyond. She recognized the Alumni Association, as well as the Alumni Engagement team for the important work being done. Whitney Fordham was acknowledged for receiving the UFV Inspirational Leader Excellence Award. UFV is preparing for its 50th anniversary in 2024, and looks forward to working together with the UFV Alumni Association.

6. Auditor Waiver (Jennifer Trithardt-Tufts, Associate Vice-Chair)

Motion: That the UFV Alumni Association waive the audit of the UFV Alumni Association's 2022-2023 financial statements.

Jennifer Trithardt-Tufts/Nikolas Venema CARRIED

7. Financial Statements 2022 -2023 (Whitney Fordham, Executive Director)

Whitney Fordham presented the 2022-23 financial statements previously circulated as part of the AGM meeting package.

Motion: Be it resolved that the UFV Alumni Association approves the 2022-2023 Financial Statements as presented.

Whitney Fordham/Derek Froese CARRIED

8. Report from the Executive Director (Whitney Fordham, Executive Director)

The Executive Director reported on the work over the past year, focusing on collaboration, mentorship, affinity partnerships, governance, infrastructure, events, community engagement & relationship building, storytelling & communications. The office has engaged with a diverse range of alumni.

9. Report from the Chair (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

The Chair presented highlights from the year. This year's wine label featured artwork by Shannon Thiesen. Our affinity and benefit partners were thanked, these partnerships help us grow. Many UFVAA monetary awards were given out to UFV students, totaling

\$17,000.

The recipient of the inaugural Outstanding Student Leader Award was announced. Congratulations to Manjot Benning (video shown).

Recipients of the 2022 Young Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Alumni Awards were acknowledged: Kara Chan and Matthew Douma (video shown).

It was highlighted that there are nearly 50,000 UFV alumni around the world, making a global impact.

The Chair recognized that much work still needs to be done on furthering Equity, Diversity and Inclusion; and recognized Director Bradley Menard for stepping into the role of Equity Diversity and Inclusion Officer.

Tony Biondi was welcomed to the Alumni team. The UFV Alumni Engagement team of three is now comprised of all UFV alumni - representing the communities of Mission, Abbotsford, and Chilliwack.

10. Presentation of the UFVAA Strategic Plan (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

The Chair reported on the UFVAA strategic planning process and unveiled the new UFVAA Strategic Plan. The process started several years ago, starting with the Mission Vision and Values. These have now been reviewed and finalized, and strategic pillars were developed. The Executive Director will be exploring how the Alumni Engagement team will be taking the strategic pillars and applying them to the work of the UFVAA.

11. Appointment of Chair (Derrick Uittenbosch, Chair)

The Chair appointed Vice-Chair Tony Dhaliwal to the new role of Chair of the Alumni Association, and welcomed him.

12. Elections (Tony Dhaliwal, Chair)

The Governance Committee nominated Tricia Taylor and Jennifer Trithardt-Tufts for the Executive Committee position of Associate Vice-Chair for 2-year terms. In accordance with the Association's Bylaws, the Chair declared the election to be won by acclamation.

The Governance Committee nominated Jessica Levesque, Aman Khinda, and Bradley Menard to the position of Director-at-Large for 2-year terms. In accordance with the Association's Bylaws, the Chair declared the election to be won by acclamation.

13. New Business and Questions (Tony Dhaliwal, Chair)

14. Adjournment (Tony Dhaliwal, Chair)

Motion: Be it resolved that we adjourn the 2023 UFV Alumni Association AGM.

Derek Froese/Jessica Levesque CARRIED

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 pm.

Minutes approved:

Chair: Date: May 29,2024